Turning a Square Rimmed Bowl

Hey folks,

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted so I decided to get a video up on the blog. Below, you’ll find a video of myself turning a square rimmed cherry bowl on the lathe. The rim is Curly Maple while the bowl itself is Cherry. As you can see in the video, it is very difficult to see the corners of the bowl while it is spinning. The easiest way to turn the bowl is to position the light so it creates a shadow on the bowl. This makes for a somewhat challenging and also dangerous piece to make. I happen to enjoy doing these square bowls as they are exciting and test my skills. Enjoy the video.

Next month I hope to be posting some pictures of work I have been doing lately. Some are a bit out of the box for me but are exciting.

-Tyler

Leave a Reply

