Handshaped and Carved Lamp

Hey folks,

It’s been too long since I’ve last done a post. I’ve moved to southern VT and am all completed with school! Woot! Anyway, this lamp is one of three projects I completed my last semester at The Vermont Woodworking School. I chose Cherry of course, for this piece. The entire lamp is hand-shaped to form the spiral. I wanted to implement texture into this piece and decided to try my hand at carving. This was my first time ever carving wood and I must admit, I enjoyed it. Enjoy the pictures.   Spiral LampSpiral Lamp DetailSpiral Lamp Base DetailI will have the pictures of the other two pieces that I completed up in a few weeks hopefully. Also, the next few months will likely be quiet in terms of new work and news. I don’t have a shop currently but am hoping to have one by spring.

-Tyler

Leave a Reply

